Picture Book & Live Review: New Order @ Chastain Park Amphitheater

New Order (1)

Photos & Review by Hillery Terenzi

“Rain, rain, go away, I want to see New Order today.”

That one sentence was probably on the minds of many New Order fans on Sunday afternoon. Like most weather reports for the days in July, rain was a daily occurrence in the Atlanta area. Luckily, that didn’t stop the fans from attending New Order with Brooklyn darlings Holy Ghost at Chastain Amphitheater on July 21.

For most, it was the first time seeing the band since their last Atlanta performance at Six Flags 23 years ago. I was relieved that about ten minutes before New Order was about to perform, the rain stopped. Singer Bernard Summer greeted the crowd and apologized for the English weather. They tore through their amazing discography with hits like “Ceremony”, “Bizarre Love Triangle”, “True Faith” and “Blue Monday”.

Being an avid concert-goer for twenty-four years, this is one of the few concerts that I have ever seen every single person dancing in their seats. The shining moment of the night was the encore of three Joy Division songs with Ian Curtis’s photo on the screen behind them with the words “Joy Division Forever”.

Set List:

1. Elegia
2. Crystal
3. Regret
4. Ceremony
5. Age of Consent
6. Isolation (Joy Division cover)
7. Close Range
8. Here to Stay
9. Your Silent Face
10. World
11. Bizarre Love Triangle
12. True Faith
13. 5 8 6
14. The Perfect Kiss
15. Blue Monday
16. Temptation


17. Atmosphere (Joy Division cover)
18. Shadowplay (Joy Division cover)
19. Love Will Tear Us Apart (Joy Division cover)

New Order

Holy Ghost


Leave A Comment!

%d bloggers like this: